Holds everything together.
eta150
Division: Grad
State: PA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Glue

Post by eta150 »

illusionist wrote:Holds everything together.
Especially your fingers :mrgreen:
#ACESWILD
illusionist
Division: C
State: MI

Post by illusionist »

Oh yeah, i've had a lot of experience with that ;)
Every year, when SO season starts, my fingers are always covered with glue...Always.
Lily Essence
State: TX

Post by Lily Essence »

One of the funniest moments of my sci oly life...

One of our members goes up to our coach with a finger touching his nose and says "Mr. L, I have a problem..." XD

But I digress, CA really hurts my hands after a while. And when you accidentally glue yourself it feels like liquid fire for a moment...
Silent and Listen are spelled with the same letters
Seven Lakes SLHS Science Olympiad
Retiring my competition career! Off to scold the newbies as a manager!
jander14indoor

Post by jander14indoor »

Sounds like time for my annual lecture on glue.

If you are having problems with glue on your fingers, especially super glue, YOU ARE USING TOO MUCH!

If you must use from a bottle, make sure you use one of those with a VERY thin tip that lets out very small drops.

Better still, use a precision micro super glue applicator. Two pins stuck through a stick that come together to a point. Make a small puddle on some wax paper that's brightly marked somehow to show its your super glue spot. Pick up small parts of a drop with your applicator to apply to joints.

There is no place on a helicopter, bridge, tower, whatever that needs a whole drop at a time. Heck, I can build a helicopter with one large drop of glue total. Weigh a drop sometime, you can't afford much more than that in your whole weight budget!

And check http://www.soinc.org/sites/default/file ... weight.pdf its a paper cobbled from other SCIOLY posts I made on smart glue use for SO (and a lot of other uses). More detail there on a precision micro super glue applicator.