Rule 6.c.vii specifically talks about the "Arm(s)" becoming detached from the optional base. The first line of the construction parameters says "an optional permanently attached Base." 3.a states "The Arm(s) may be attached to a Base." This leads one to the understanding that the "arm" is attached to the "base" which is touching the ground. Rule 4.a.iii differentiates between an "arm" and an "end effector," defining end effectors as "parts that interact with the items on the Competition Area."chalker wrote:OldSpice wrote:If I remember correctly, yes it is legal, though you should submit a clarification yourself to be sure.illusionist wrote:Is it legal to place a part of the robot inside one of the goals? For example, dropping a piece of tape in along with the PVC pipes.
We've gotten several questions at soinc.org about this. And while this of course is not the place for official clarifications, please note rule 6.c.vii, which could be interpreted to mean that if anything becomes detached from the arm, time must stop.
Based on what I described above, I would argue against the interpretation you made.
On a another note, how would you guys interpret rule 6.c.v? Would any part of the arm (end effectors included) touching the ground be enough to cause the time to stop? (I would say "no")
Disclaimer: All of this is nothing more than my opinion. This is not a place for official rule clarifications.