tower tips for a first timer

tcm1234
Division: B
State: NC
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

tower tips for a first timer

Post by tcm1234 »

i need help from someone who has done towers before! its my first time :mrgreen:
Schrodingerscat
Administrator
Administrator
Division: Grad
State: KS
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Re: tower tips for a first timer

Post by Schrodingerscat »

I have never done towers (and it is very likely that I never will), but I would suggest that you start by reading the other threads about towers in this forum. You can also read last year's tower forum and the wiki, but be sure to read it with a grain of salt as to new rule changes that might apply (As of this post, the last update for the wiki was before the release of this years rules). My final suggestion is that after you read all of this material, you return and ask specific questions. You will be far more likely to get help from other people if you ask a question about something in particular, rather than the general event.
SirBobo
State: CA

Post by SirBobo »

I would
1. Find out the lightest and strongest wood there is.
2. Look at other works to get an idea
3. Plan your tower
4. Make your tower
5. Test your tower
6. Find the flaws
7. Remake and retest
8. Repeat step 7 until satisfied
9. Good Luck
ITS ALWAYS HARD THE FIRST FEW TIMES!
I am SirBobo and I approve this message

"Insert meaningful quote here"

Image Image
jjnv
State: VA

Post by jjnv »

Our students built their first tower for an invitational this weekend. The tower is not perfectly level. Therefore the chain might be touching the base of the chimney. Will they get disqualified for "9. Clearance to fit Loading Block and chain"?

Thanks a lot for clarification.
sj
Division: C
State: NJ

Post by sj »

If the chain is obviously leaning on the tower I believe that this will result in a disqualification though it has never happend to me personally....