We took "previously" as having been responsible for some other point that is extant upon completion of the run (ie.: one of the pencils in a box, or things like that.) In fact that was the only reason we decided not to have a balloon raise the ball to the ceiling, because the ball would be moved into the north zone by the balloon, and then be lifted a good 6 metres up.
well we see "previously" meaning different things, and in the end it was decided as being legal by jander14indoor, who had more than his fair share of words written into the rules.
And the whole balloon thing wouldnt come to a realistic stable equilibrium as required by the rules (cant site the specific one without rules by me)
On that note, Mr. Anderson, I saw that there was a team trying to USE a balloon, but then wasnt in the 1 meter height limit, stumbled around for an hour and cut one of them out. If they had time/skill to have actually hoisted up the pingpong ball with the balloon, did they give you a satisfactory rationalization to USE it?
I should have introduced myself, but you seemed busy with actually competing persons, but I was there for the majority of the robot arm day
Sorry, I'm adding an edit onto this post to talk about another point of the post before describing the run from plaid guy. The rules say that the part of the arm used to raise AKA a motor, must be used to score a point. Not that the motor itself has to ever touch the ball. So the motor used to turn the "small arm" into the northern zone WAS the same motor used on the "big arm" (which isnt really an arm at all) since the base motor was disengaged and the height task motor was engaged.
Thus, the "large arm" was part of the system used to score the point, thus scoring, itself, a point.