Mission Possible Starting Task Question

Flavorflav
Member
Member
Posts: 1376
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 7:06 am
Division: Grad
State: NY
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Starting task

Post by Flavorflav » March 13th, 2013, 6:09 am

tgaspar wrote:Thank you! Should I list it like this?

1. coin drops through a pipe
2. coin completes a circuit to turn on fan
3. air blows car down track

or
1. coin drops through the pipe and completes a circuit to turn on fan
2. air blows car down track

Thank you again for your opinion. :D
It seems to me that if you list it the first way, you violate 3.b.v because the coin is used twice, and if you list it the second way you don't get the points for the start task, because it activates a scoreable task.

hogger
Member
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: July 12th, 2006, 7:07 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Starting task

Post by hogger » March 13th, 2013, 7:04 am

Flavorflav wrote:
tgaspar wrote:Thank you! Should I list it like this?

1. coin drops through a pipe
2. coin completes a circuit to turn on fan
3. air blows car down track

or
1. coin drops through the pipe and completes a circuit to turn on fan
2. air blows car down track

Thank you again for your opinion. :D
It seems to me that if you list it the first way, you violate 3.b.v because the coin is used twice, and if you list it the second way you don't get the points for the start task, because it activates a scoreable task.
My interpretation of the wording is that object cannot be used in more than one "assigned" task. So a way out might be:

1. coin drops (assigned task a)
2. coin travels through pipe to complete circuit (non-scorable and not an assigned task)
3. circuit turns on fan that blows car down the track (assigned task c)

BTW, what is the penalty for violating this rule? No points for both tasks that use the same object? Or is it a construction violation meaning the device is put in tier 3?

Flavorflav
Member
Member
Posts: 1376
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 7:06 am
Division: Grad
State: NY
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mission Possible Starting Task Question

Post by Flavorflav » March 15th, 2013, 6:35 am

Well, now we have to parse what "assigned" means. If it means "listed," then it would include nonscoreable tasks, but if it means "scoreable" then it would not. Could I get any more opinions on this, please? I have to judge tomorrow.

The penalty seems clear, though - 3.b.v is a construction rule, so a violation of it would be a construction violation.

Locked

Return to “Mission Possible B”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest