Mentor's role during event

orangemen200
Division: B
State: PA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Mentor's role during event

Post by orangemen200 »

This is my first time acting as mentor. I'm not quite sure what I'm supposed to do at the event? Am I participating in the impound? Do I get to watch the team describe and work the machine when actually being scored? Do I double check to make sure it's all set up correctly?

Anyone have past experience that can provide help?
Schrodingerscat
Administrator
Administrator
Division: Grad
State: KS
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Re: Mentor's role during event

Post by Schrodingerscat »

orangemen200 wrote:This is my first time acting as mentor. I'm not quite sure what I'm supposed to do at the event? Am I participating in the impound? Do I get to watch the team describe and work the machine when actually being scored? Do I double check to make sure it's all set up correctly?

Anyone have past experience that can provide help?

Sorry, I am not sure exactly what you mean. Are you being a mentor for a particular team, or is this something else?

If the former:
You would have a very minimal role during the competition itself. The general rules this year require students to impound the event, so the most you would be allowed to do is carry items to the impound location for the students. During the competition itself you would only be allowed to act as a spectator, as outside coaching is always prohibited during events. Thus even if they were making a major mistake such as forgetting to set up one of the tasks correctly, you would not be allowed to stop them. Therefore, your only main role could be in preparing them prior to the competition.
A Person
State: KY
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Post by A Person »