Mission Possible C

olympiaddict
Member
Member
Posts: 175
Joined: August 11th, 2012, 5:17 pm
Division: C

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby olympiaddict » January 11th, 2014, 7:33 am

Yup, it was clarified with a slight change in the components rule:
http://www.soinc.org/official_rules_clarif
LED's and light bulbs are now allowed

Kordo
Member
Member
Posts: 16
Joined: September 24th, 2010, 9:45 am
Division: C
State: OH
Location: Ohio

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Kordo » January 13th, 2014, 8:49 am

Thank you for your input Uncle Fester, I would have to agree with everything you said. For the rules not saying to or from I used line 4b to argue that the left column was being counted because they mention that " An Energy Transfer can receive points when it directly transfers from one Basic Energy Form TO a DIFFERENT Basic Energy Form", I think it can be argued that it is clearly the first form that they are calling "it" here. This also rules out counting the last EMF because it doesn't transfer to anything.

twototwenty
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 292
Joined: March 24th, 2011, 10:28 am
Division: Grad
State: NY

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby twototwenty » January 14th, 2014, 4:27 am

Thank you for your input Uncle Fester, I would have to agree with everything you said. For the rules not saying to or from I used line 4b to argue that the left column was being counted because they mention that " An Energy Transfer can receive points when it directly transfers from one Basic Energy Form TO a DIFFERENT Basic Energy Form", I think it can be argued that it is clearly the first form that they are calling "it" here. This also rules out counting the last EMF because it doesn't transfer to anything.
Are you saying that this rules out counting the last elec -> EMS (if that is how I am lightin up the final light)? Because the energy form of electricity is being directly transferred to the energy form of light. I am confused as to why that transfer wouldn't count.

Phys1cs
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: November 10th, 2013, 6:53 pm
Division: Grad
State: MD

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Phys1cs » January 14th, 2014, 5:30 am

Are you saying that this rules out counting the last elec -> EMS (if that is how I am lightin up the final light)? Because the energy form of electricity is being directly transferred to the energy form of light. I am confused as to why that transfer wouldn't count.
we were told that that transfer does count

Flavorflav
Member
Member
Posts: 1364
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 7:06 am
Division: Grad
State: NY

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Flavorflav » January 14th, 2014, 5:32 am

Thank you for your input Uncle Fester, I would have to agree with everything you said. For the rules not saying to or from I used line 4b to argue that the left column was being counted because they mention that " An Energy Transfer can receive points when it directly transfers from one Basic Energy Form TO a DIFFERENT Basic Energy Form", I think it can be argued that it is clearly the first form that they are calling "it" here. This also rules out counting the last EMF because it doesn't transfer to anything.
Are you saying that this rules out counting the last elec -> EMS (if that is how I am lightin up the final light)? Because the energy form of electricity is being directly transferred to the energy form of light. I am confused as to why that transfer wouldn't count.
Kordo just explained that - the light in the final task doesn't transfer to anything, so you can't score it. Even if you did have it do something afterward, nothing after the light goes on counts.

olympiaddict
Member
Member
Posts: 175
Joined: August 11th, 2012, 5:17 pm
Division: C

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby olympiaddict » January 14th, 2014, 9:20 am

I would agree with twototwenty about electricity -> ems except I'm hesitant about the rule saying one action can contribute to only one score able transfer... The last light shining is a "task" not a transfer though so it's questionable

Phys1cs
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: November 10th, 2013, 6:53 pm
Division: Grad
State: MD

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Phys1cs » January 16th, 2014, 3:22 pm

would using an electromagnet count as electromagnetic?
we're using it to pull away a piece of metal, em->mech?

thanks!!

Uncle Fester
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: May 14th, 2001, 4:59 pm
Division: Grad
State: IN
Location: Michigan, SO in Indiana

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Uncle Fester » January 16th, 2014, 4:07 pm

Absolutely not. It's not an ELECTROMAGNETIC SPECTRUM wave. If it were, what's its wavelength?

What is it then? It's a "Static B Field"
Uncle Fester, Maker & Fiction Science Writer

The Misadventures of the Electric Detention
The Revenge of the Electric Detention
The Curse of the Electric Detention
>> Three full-length adventures, 26 short stories and counting!

Phys1cs
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: November 10th, 2013, 6:53 pm
Division: Grad
State: MD

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby Phys1cs » January 16th, 2014, 4:32 pm

thanks!

rmp509
Member
Member
Posts: 37
Joined: September 30th, 2010, 2:11 pm
Division: B
State: NY

Re: Mission Possible C

Postby rmp509 » January 16th, 2014, 4:41 pm

Hi if i have a motor hitting a switch that activates a circuit powered by a homemade battery which then turns on the led would this be mechanical to chemical to ems?
2013 Division B Events

Helicopters
Rotor Egg Drop
Mousetrap Vehicle
Experimental Design
Road Scholar
Shock Value
Boomilever


Return to “2014 Build Events”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest