Experimental Design B/C

Jim_R
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Division: Grad
Has thanked: 0

Experimental Design B/C

Post by Jim_R »

-The path of the Administrator is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men.

-Nothing\'s gonna get deleted. We\'re gonna be like three little Fonzies here. And what\'s Fonzie like? Come on, what\'s Fonzie like?
-Cool?
-Correctamundo. And that\'s what we\'re gonna be. We\'re gonna be cool. Now, I\'m gonna count to three, and when I count three, you let go of your mouse, and back away from the keyboard. But when you do it, you do it cool. Ready? One... two... three.
HeavyHitter406
Division: C
State: IL
Been thanked: 0

Re: Experimental Design B/C

Post by HeavyHitter406 »

I'm new to division C...how do you do Standard of Deviation? That is part of the Statistics in C, right?
2014 (Wright State/Lisle/Grayslake/Regionals/State/Nationals)

Water Quality: 8/1/2/1/2/3
Experimental Design: 12/1/5/5/8/37
Road Scholar: 12/2/2/3/3/11
Wheeled Vehicle: 32/6/6/2/11/5
actionpotential

Post by actionpotential »

Hey Heavyhitter!

So I've always been confused by that big complicated expression myself. Standard deviation is basically measure of how spread out your data values are.

Analyzed step by step:

1. Take the mean of the data. (Symbol is x with bar over it)
2. For each data point, subtract mean from the data point. Then square this difference.
3. Add up the squares.
4. Divide this sum by number of terms minus 1. (Symbol of number of terms is n.)
5. Take square root.

For example:

Data set: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9

1. Mean = 5
2 and 3. (1 minus 5)^2 + (3 minus 5)^2 + ... = 40
4. 40 divided by (5 minus 1) = 8
5. Square root of 8 = 2.828

Standard Deviation = 2.828

Note:If your data includes possible data points for a population, then in step 4 you would instead divide by the number of terms. But if you're working with a sample of the data, which is probably the case in XPD, you divide by number of terms minus 1.