Meaning of Rules

goodcheer
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: October 27th, 2012, 7:09 am
Division: B
State: KY
Contact:

Meaning of Rules

Postby goodcheer » February 4th, 2015, 9:19 am

Is anyone else having trouble understanding exactly what 4.i means? Does the first "or" need to be changed to "and?" The phrase "completes a scoreable transfer" is confusing me. Does it mean the competitor completes it by touching it or is it referring to a legitimate transfer? The first "or" separates the first phrase from the second; the second phrase mentioning an adjustment being made, I suppose by touching the device. As it reads now, if a competitor completes a scoreable transfer, it will not count for points. Very awkward wording. I am guessing it was intending to say, "If a competitor makes an adjustment....neither the transfer nor the golf ball will count for points."

Flavorflav
Member
Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 7:06 am
Division: Grad
State: NY
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby Flavorflav » February 4th, 2015, 9:28 am

"If the competitor completes a transfer," not "If the device completes a transfer." This is describing what happens in the event of a touch.

User avatar
XJcwolfyX
Member
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: October 22nd, 2010, 7:57 am
Division: C
State: -
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby XJcwolfyX » February 4th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Hi! After years of doing this event, I've learned something very important. You should not read into the rules too carefully. Yes, it is important to read the rules thoroughly and have a complete and total understanding of them, but when you start nitpicking the small technical words or grammar of the rules that conflict with your device, it becomes a problem. You need to look at the rules, and think of what they writers were thinking. Obviously, they did not mean that you don't get points for completing transfers. If rules are completely unclear, then you should submit an FAQ/Clarification. But finding small words and manipulating them to fit your device has never worked out (not saying you're doing this, just giving advice).
Medal Counter: 73

User avatar
hexagonaria
Member
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: July 14th, 2010, 11:00 pm
Division: C
State: OH
Location: Pepperland
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby hexagonaria » February 5th, 2015, 8:37 am

I think it'd be cool if we tried to limit rule discussion to this thread. I was hoping to get some design inspiration from the design thread, but it's mostly just everyone trying to demystify what the rules mean :lol: :roll:
DFTBA

phil9047
Member
Member
Posts: 35
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 12:33 pm
Division: C
State: CA
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby phil9047 » February 6th, 2015, 4:14 pm

4.b states "An ETS can receive points only if: 1) it is initiated by the process of a golf ball moving into the scoring jug (cannot be counted as an energy form)"
Does that mean the golf ball's movement cannot be counted as an energy form (mechanical energy)?
Sine functions are quite odd, to be honest.

kovai2000
Member
Member
Posts: 1
Joined: February 7th, 2015, 2:33 pm
State: -
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby kovai2000 » February 7th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Did anyone understand this differently?
If I use one single mechanism to move the golf balls one by one and have each one trigger an ETS that follows all the rules in 4.b, will it violate any rules? There is a statement in 4 that states "A single action or component must contribute to only one scoreable transfer". Does this apply to the ETS or apply to lifting golf balls also?

chalker
Member
Member
Posts: 2066
Joined: January 9th, 2009, 7:30 pm
Division: Grad
State: OH
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby chalker » February 7th, 2015, 8:09 pm

kovai2000 wrote:Did anyone understand this differently?
If I use one single mechanism to move the golf balls one by one and have each one trigger an ETS that follows all the rules in 4.b, will it violate any rules? There is a statement in 4 that states "A single action or component must contribute to only one scoreable transfer". Does this apply to the ETS or apply to lifting golf balls also?


There is a FAQ that speaks to this: http://soinc.org/node/1525

Student Alumni
National Event Supervisor
National Physical Sciences Rules Committee Chair

User avatar
SWAnG
Member
Member
Posts: 80
Joined: January 18th, 2014, 11:22 pm
Division: C
State: MN
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby SWAnG » February 8th, 2015, 5:00 pm

I think kovai2000 is asking whether reusing a mechanism to lift the ball can be considered as NOT a part of the ETS. I personally think this is allowed, in the rules it states that the ETS "causes the next golf ball to move toward and into a scoring jug". So, as long as the ETS is initiated by the process of the golf ball moving into the jug, then causes the next ball to move toward and into a scoring jug, it is scoreable. Basically, reusing a component to lift the golf ball into the scoring jug after an ETS seems legal as it is what "moves the golf ball toward and into a scoring jug". I suggest sending an FAQ on this, I did too; they are more likely to answer this question that way.

olynewbie
Member
Member
Posts: 6
Joined: December 25th, 2014, 1:54 am
State: -
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby olynewbie » February 15th, 2015, 10:26 pm

I'm a little confused about the meaning of "hazardous" in context.
Will I be allowed to use chemicals such as Potassium hydroxide and Manganese oxide?

Thanks!

User avatar
bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1882
Joined: January 5th, 2014, 3:12 pm
Division: Grad
State: WA
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby bernard » February 15th, 2015, 11:41 pm

olynewbie wrote:I'm a little confused about the meaning of "hazardous" in context.
Will I be allowed to use chemicals such as Potassium hydroxide and Manganese oxide?

Thanks!

From what I've seen in FAQs, whether or not a substance is "hazardous" will be up to each event supervisor, which could vary at tournaments. Looking at the NFPA 704 for the substances you mentioned could help you determine whether a substance would be safe to use. Potassium hydroxide is a 3 for heath meaning it can cause serious injury so I would avoid using it.
Science Olympiad wrote:Under the rules for mission possible it states, "hazardous liquids...and unsafe chemical handling will not be permitted. What designates a liquid as hazardous or a chemical as unsafe? (section: 3 / paragraph: i / line: 1-2)
That is up to the individual event supervisor to determine. It will be based upon common standards and processes, such as those found in a typical chemistry lab. In general, when in doubt, err on the side of caution.
"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there."

User avatar
blakinator8
Member
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: November 11th, 2012, 8:39 am
Division: Grad
State: TX
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby blakinator8 » March 3rd, 2015, 10:13 am

A new rules clarification has been posted for mission (in comic cans, for some reason?)

Mission Possible 3.g. should read "Electrical components may be used in the device, but no computers or integrated circuits are allowed except an unmodified commercially sold buzzer may be used in the final task. (3/3/15)

Mission Possible 4. A jug is defined as any plastic beverage container that has sides that are at least 10cm high. There is no requirement that the jug/container has or had a handle on it. (3/3/15)
Picture This: A TEAM OF: 3. should read A TEAM OF UP TO: 3. (10/29/14)




Image
Proud member of the Liberal Arts and Science Academy team, 2012-2015

User avatar
bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1882
Joined: January 5th, 2014, 3:12 pm
Division: Grad
State: WA
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby bernard » March 3rd, 2015, 10:32 am

FAQs/clarifications are being synced, so check back tonight for any changes.
"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there."

goodcheer
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: October 27th, 2012, 7:09 am
Division: B
State: KY
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby goodcheer » March 4th, 2015, 11:27 am

bernard wrote:FAQs/clarifications are being synced, so check back tonight for any changes.



The clarification about the jug not requiring a handle should change some of the FAQs which mention the jug had to have a handle. Does that mean a bottle will be accepted?

For example: http://soinc.org/node/1585

and: http://soinc.org/node/1584

User avatar
bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 1882
Joined: January 5th, 2014, 3:12 pm
Division: Grad
State: WA
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby bernard » March 4th, 2015, 11:42 am

goodcheer wrote:
bernard wrote:FAQs/clarifications are being synced, so check back tonight for any changes.



The clarification about the jug not requiring a handle should change some of the FAQs which mention the jug had to have a handle. Does that mean a bottle will be accepted?

For example: http://soinc.org/node/1585

and: http://soinc.org/node/1584

Yes.
"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there."

goodcheer
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: October 27th, 2012, 7:09 am
Division: B
State: KY
Contact:

Re: Meaning of Rules

Postby goodcheer » March 5th, 2015, 7:07 am

bernard wrote:
goodcheer wrote:
bernard wrote:FAQs/clarifications are being synced, so check back tonight for any changes.



The clarification about the jug not requiring a handle should change some of the FAQs which mention the jug had to have a handle. Does that mean a bottle will be accepted?

For example: http://soinc.org/node/1585

and: http://soinc.org/node/1584

Yes.


Thank you. That should help some of the competitors. Thanks to all those who work on these rules issues: not an easy task.


Return to “Mission Possible C”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest