Bridge Weight - Division B

VansBuilders
Division: C
State: CA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Bridge Weight - Division B

Post by VansBuilders »

I am new to science Olympiad. I am doing Bridge Building in Division B.
I built a prototype last wkend. See picture. I used balsa wood & super glue.
The truss part has .5 cm balsa & .3 cm balsa wood. It weighs 19.8 grams. I have not tested the load yet.
From this forum I understand that the ideal weight should ~6 grams.
1. Any thoughts on how I can bring the weight down?
2. Should I be using only .3cm balsa for all of the members & nodes?
3. Should I be using a different adhesive?
FullSizeRender (1).jpg
FullSizeRender (1).jpg (35.19 KiB) Viewed 6525 times
bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Division: Grad
State: WA
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Re: Bridge Weight - Division B

Post by bernard »

VansBuilders wrote:I am new to science Olympiad. I am doing Bridge Building in Division B.
I built a prototype last wkend. See picture. I used balsa wood & super glue.
The truss part has .5 cm balsa & .3 cm balsa wood. It weighs 19.8 grams. I have not tested the load yet.
From this forum I understand that the ideal weight should ~6 grams.
1. Any thoughts on how I can bring the weight down?
2. Should I be using only .3cm balsa for all of the members & nodes?
3. Should I be using a different adhesive?
FullSizeRender (1).jpg
Quick response since I'm doing homework right now, might come back later...

Weight isn't particularly important for you until you've tested it and know it will hold more than 15 kgs. If it doesn't hold all 15 kgs, decreasing your weight doesn't necessarily help your score. If it holds more than 15 kgs, you'd want to decrease your bridge's weight because it's able to support more than it needs to.