Inclined Plane question

User avatar
dragonfruit35
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 201
Joined: February 28th, 2015, 7:49 am
Division: C
State: VA
Location: TJHSST
Contact:

Inclined Plane question

Postby dragonfruit35 » February 24th, 2016, 4:42 pm

The rules state that an object can be pushed or pulled up an incline plane to count for points. If a marble rolls up a ramp due to kinetic energy (ie. not being directly pushed or pulled) would this still count?

Last Year: (VT/ FFX/ Reg/ State/Nats)
Mousetrap 1/1/5/-/- Mission 3/4/4/-/- Herp 7/2/4/-/-
WiFi -/-/-/4/13 Indoor Bottle Rocket -/-/-/1/- Code Busters -/-/-/-/1 :D
Gooooooo Colonials!

Uncle Fester
Member
Member
Posts: 149
Joined: May 14th, 2001, 4:59 pm
Division: Grad
State: IN
Location: Michigan, SO in Indiana
Contact:

Re: Inclined Plane question

Postby Uncle Fester » February 26th, 2016, 6:11 pm

Good question onyour part. Answer is "no." Nothing is pulling/pushing the mass on the ramp.
Uncle Fester, Maker & Fiction Science Writer

The Misadventures of the Electric Detention
The Revenge of the Electric Detention
The Curse of the Electric Detention
>> Three full-length adventures, 26 short stories and counting!

SPP SciO
Member
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: March 24th, 2015, 8:21 am
Division: B
State: NY
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Inclined Plane question

Postby SPP SciO » March 28th, 2016, 9:44 am

Uncle Fester wrote:Good question onyour part. Answer is "no." Nothing is pulling/pushing the mass on the ramp.

"Inclined Planes must be stationary and have an object pushed or pulled at least 10cm up and along the surface of the inclined plane to count for points."

Interesting - So imagine a marble being launched up a ramp. If the initial force comes from a compressed spring (like in a toilet paper dispenser), but it's just an impulse, and the inertia carries the marble up the ramp, that is NOT acceptable for points, because nothing is pulling/pushing (besides gravity & friction) WHILE the marble is on the inclined plane?

But - if that spring were outfitted with some sort of plunger apparatus (at least 10cm) that continually applied force to the same marble to get it up the inclined plane, that's OK?

My interpretation before reading this post was, both scenarios would be OK. But now I've got my doubts. Can anyone confirm/deny?
Coach
MS 821 Sunset Park Prep
http://www.sppscio.com


Return to “Mission Possible B”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest