Rules clarification

jdemaris
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Rules clarification

Post by jdemaris »

I am serving as a coach along with two others. I am seeking clarification on two issues. The Olympiad Website says to "ask a coach." Well, I AM a coach so who the heck do I ask now? I sent an email to the National Site but don't know if I will get an answer. Here is what I sent. Figured I'd try here too.

RE: Science Olympiad 2015‐2016 Season Air Trajectory Checklist / Data Sheet

First question relates to "3.b. Device converts energy to air pressure / air movement "
One of the coaches thinks a catapult is allowed. I do not. A catapult converts gravitational energy into mechanical energy - not into air pressure or air movement. Am I correct that such a catapult is not allowed?

Second question relates to "3.c. Device air chambers start at and return automatically to ambient air pressure "

Please define "device." Suppose an air reservoir is used to store compressed air made by weight-driven mechanical motion (call it device #1). Then it is released into a 2nd air chamber that propels a tennis ball (device #2). Does the reservoir have to empty completely and achieve ambient pressure or does that aspect of the rule only apply to the chamber that propels the tennis ball?

One additional question. If an air-pressure reservoir is built - is there a limit on the PSI generated? Pretty high pressure could be achieved with multiple strokes of an air-pump with an 11 pound weight and ample mechanical advantage. This assuming multiple strokes to charge an air-reservoir are allowed. I see nothing that prohibits it. Just the weight limit of approx. 11 lbs.
windu34
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Division: Grad
State: FL

Re: Rules clarification

Post by windu34 »