Materials Science C

bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Division: Grad
State: WA

Materials Science C

Postby bernard » Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:00 am

"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there."

lavendercats814
State: -

Re: Materials Science C

Postby lavendercats814 » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:51 pm

Hi! I've never done materials science before and I haven't received the rules yet... I've also heard it was a difficult lab event as well. What are the best ways to study for this event, and also to help other people on the team as well?

Fluorine
State: FL

Postby Fluorine » Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:30 am

lavendercats814 wrote:Hi! I've never done materials science before and I haven't received the rules yet... I've also heard it was a difficult lab event as well. What are the best ways to study for this event, and also to help other people on the team as well?

I did this event my Freshman year and was one my first experience with science olympiad. Exciting to be doing it again this year now with an actual Chem and Physics background! To study what I am doing is taking notes based on the rules and then taking those notes to construct an organized binder. The difficulty from this event I don't think comes from the material being particularly difficult more that it is just that most competitors do not know anything about the subject and have to start learning from scratch. From Freshman year I remember that the tests are basically a good mix of chemistry stuff and then physical stuff that both relate to materials. Also, you should expect to complete a lab of some sort based off some of the more common physical properties.
Proud Alumni of FAUHS SO! Cornell '21

Past Events
Wind Power, Anatomy, Invasive Species, Materials Science, Optics, Entomology,
Cell Biology, Fossils, Experimental Design, Protein Modeling

BrS
Division: C

Postby BrS » Fri Oct 07, 2016 2:16 am