scioly2345
Division: C
State: NY
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

17-18 Season: Building during the Summer

Post by scioly2345 »

I am a tower builder for division B, and I want to know, what's the best design for the most efficient tower? Xs and Ladders? Zig zags? Starting to build over the summer, and also, what glue should I use? Wood glue is what I used from 15-17. And which would be better, a one or two piece tower? A 16cm by 16cm tower or a 29.cm by 7cm tower? Thanks!!
2016-2019 Brother Joseph Fox Latin School
2020-2022 Kellenberg Memorial High School
2022 events - Bridge, Write It Do It, Wright Stuff
God Bless and Rest In Peace Len Joeris (Balsa Man)
“for the betterment of science”
Unome
Division: Grad
State: GA

Re: 17-18 Season: Building during the Summer

Post by Unome »

scioly2345 wrote:I am a tower builder for division B, and I want to know, what's the best design for the most efficient tower? Xs and Ladders? Zig zags? Starting to build over the summer, and also, what glue should I use? Wood glue is what I used from 15-17. And which would be better, a one or two piece tower? A 16cm by 16cm tower or a 29.cm by 7cm tower? Thanks!!
Xs and ladders or Xs only are typically the two best designs.

CA glue (cyanoacrylate) is easily the best type. Medium viscosity is easier to use, though I've heard that low viscosity is superior in quality (but it's a small difference).

A one piece tower is better, but that depends on what the 2018 rules allow. I'd recommend building some two-piece towers.

Square base is typically better.
Userpage

Opinions expressed on this site are not official; the only place for official rules changes and FAQs is soinc.org.
Random Human

Post by Random Human »