tips on a 2 piece?

cool hand luke
Division: B
State: TX
Has thanked: 0

tips on a 2 piece?

Post by cool hand luke »

Last year was my first year helping to coach a middle school sci oly team (and our teams first year to ever compete) I mainly helped on all the builds. I'm a civil engineer, so towers is near and dear to my heart. I read most of the posts here last year, and we did decently in towers.

Our backup tower placed 5th at state, (somehow between the hotel room and the event we broke our primary tower! thank goodness for backups!)

Our much better towers we had been doing before state would have been in the 2-3 range.

So, all that being said, what do I need to do for a two piece?

Do you build 1 jig for the bottom, a separate for a top, and potentially a 3rd to connect them?

What works for the joint connecting the two pieces?

anything else I should know going into a 2 piece tower?
Balsa Man
Coach
Coach
Division: C
State: CO

Re: tips on a 2 piece?

Post by Balsa Man »

I'll be getting more detailed thoughts posted, but here are a few initial ones: