Just starting Mission Possible B for 2017

jpwnng
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Just starting Mission Possible B for 2017

Post by jpwnng »

I'm a new coach to Mission Possible B for 2017 and just getting started. Can anyone offer me suggestions on how to get started? I just need the very basics first on how to begin student discussions on this event. Also what basic materials should I start gathering and where is the best place to find materials? Any feedback is much appreciated!
Unome
Division: Grad
State: GA

Re: Just starting Mission Possible B for 2017

Post by Unome »

First: how much prior experience do you have with Science Olympiad? (there are others that can answer your question better than I, but this info will definitely help them do it better; I just popped in to say this)
Userpage

Opinions expressed on this site are not official; the only place for official rules changes and FAQs is soinc.org.
jpwnng
Been thanked: 0

Post by jpwnng »

I have zero (none) experience with prior Science Olypiad events.
chalker
State: OH

Post by chalker »

jpwnng wrote:I have zero (none) experience with prior Science Olypiad events.
First thing to always do in SO: Read the event rules
Second thing to do: Re-read the event rules.

Seriously.. far too many people jump in head first and don't understand all the nuances of the rules. They then end up wasting time, materials, money building stuff out of spec.

Also, check out the official soinc.org website, as each event has a page dedicated to it with resources and links. You can also search on Youtube for videos of other mission possible devices (just be careful as the rules change each year, so what you see might not quite be in spec with the current rules.)

Student Alumni
National Event Supervisor
National Physical Sciences Rules Committee Chair
SPP SciO
Division: B
State: NY
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Post by SPP SciO »