bernard
Administrator
Administrator
Division: Grad
State: WA
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Dynamic Planet B/C

Post by bernard »

"One of the ways that I believe people express their appreciation to the rest of humanity is to make something wonderful and put it out there." – Steve Jobs
connerywood18
Division: C
State: CA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Dynamic Planet B/C

Post by connerywood18 »

As a student, I'm mildly concerned about the rule change for how calculators must be "dedicated to computation" in the event.
Maybe I'm just slow on the news, but any ideas/knowledge as to how/why that wording is in the rules?
Thanks!
OrigamiPlanet
State: PA

Post by OrigamiPlanet »

connerywood18 wrote:As a student, I'm mildly concerned about the rule change for how calculators must be "dedicated to computation" in the event.
Maybe I'm just slow on the news, but any ideas/knowledge as to how/why that wording is in the rules?
Thanks!
From what I saw, "dedication to computation" just means that the sole purpose of the calculator is to calculate. It's basically excluding things like phones, as they are not just for computing mathematical problems. So like a TI Calculator would fit under those guidelines.
Div. C - Cumberland Valley High School

Events
Astronomy; Codebusters; Dynamic Planet

Howdy partner ;)

Email me for anything! Aliases are HeeYaww and v_v_vle
Skink
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
State: IL

Post by Skink »

Looking at the last National test, there's some...obscure material on there, certainly not stuff covered in the generally recommended resources (or clearly outlined subtopics in the rules, yikes). Does anybody know about gravity anomalies, the magnetism stuff tested, and anything else I'm forgetting? I only gave it a quick look.
Unome
State: GA

Post by Unome »