Recommended quantity of balsa

jmillard
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Recommended quantity of balsa

Post by jmillard »

I'm a teacher in the Philadelphia district and I want to do a small, mock event that mirrors this competition. I've found a good supplier for the balsa wood but I'm not sure exactly how much to purchase. If i assume I just give my students 1/32 balsa sticks, how much do you all think one tower would take? Should i order for two towers each to account for testing? Any sort of advice would be awesome, I want my students to have a great end of the year physics project.
Matholy

Re: Recommended quantity of balsa

Post by Matholy »

I would suggests buying bulk quantities from amazon, or if you really want good quality wood, specializedbalsa. If you don't want to buy it online, go to any hobby store like Hobby Lobby to buy balsa, but this wood is usually not that good.

I would suggest altering the rules to make the building process easier: if you use last year's rules, the tower is 1 piece, instead of a 2 piece tower, with a top and bottom (this year's rules).

Also, most balsa is sold in 36 sticks, so I would suggest that you can fit 2 of the columns into the 1 stick to save wood. You should make the rules so that the tower needs to be 40cm, instead of 50cm in the rules. (2 columns * 40cm = 80cm = about 31 inches, with about 4 inches to spare).

Therefore, for each tower, you need 2 sticks for the columns (I would suggest 1/8, or maybe 3/16), and maybe 10 sticks of 1/16 for each pair (all 36 inch).

Always buy extra. I suggest you buy maybe 25% more of the 1/8 or 3/16, and maybe 30-40% more for the 1/16 sticks.
Crtomir
Division: B
State: OH

Post by Crtomir »