Braking System

xiangyu
Division: Grad
State: MI
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Braking System

Post by xiangyu »

Out of curiosity, how many teams are using a braking system for their MTV? Is it really crucial? My MTV doesn't have a braking system and I've just been controlling how far it comes back with how many winds I do, is this a good idea? I'm new to the event this year and need some guidance. Thanks!
Medal & Ribbon Count: 33
Former EGRHS Team Captain 2017-2021
https://scioly.org/wiki/index.php/User:Xiangyu
mnoga
Division: C
State: CA

Re: Braking System

Post by mnoga »

xiangyu wrote:Out of curiosity, how many teams are using a braking system for their MTV? Is it really crucial? My MTV doesn't have a braking system and I've just been controlling how far it comes back with how many winds I do, is this a good idea? I'm new to the event this year and need some guidance. Thanks!
Yes, very crucial if you want to win a regional or state competition.
Things2do
State: TN

Post by Things2do »

I won Regions and got 5th at State by affixing my drive string to the axle and varying the winds on and off of the built up middle part. I woulda gotten higher at State, but I overcorrected the curve for my second run and wound up slightly farther away on both with my second run. On the other side of the dots...
John 5:46-47
Eagle Scout
Colorado School of Mines

"[A] new project car is always a good idea. [Y]ou always need a new project car[.]" - jaspattack

Let's go, Brandon!
See Wiki
xiangyu

Post by xiangyu »

Things2do wrote:I won Regions and got 5th at State by affixing my drive string to the axle and varying the winds on and off of the built up middle part. I woulda gotten higher at State, but I overcorrected the curve for my second run and wound up slightly farther away on both with my second run. On the other side of the dots...