banilmd
Division: C
State: CA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Rubber Motor lenght / Motor Stick length

Post by banilmd »

Hey all,
This is my first time competing in this event so forgive me if some of the questions I ask have obvious answers. Recently I competed at an invitational, and I saw some teams had a very long motor stick and long rubber motor. From my understanding, the reason for the long motor stick is so that you can decrease the angles of both the wind and stab and therefore reduce the overall drag. As for the longer rubber motor, I assume it is to allow for more turns as the length of the motor does not affect the torque. My question is one, am I understanding what is happening properly, and two how would I go about experimenting with longer motor sticks and rubber motors.
Thank you all very much!
bjt4888
State: MI

Re: Rubber Motor lenght / Motor Stick length

Post by bjt4888 »

Basil,

Yes, in general, you have one of the benefits of the long motor stick correct. If a longer stick allows a longer tail moment arm (essentially, the distance from the wing TE to the Stab LE), this moves the center of pressure more towards the stabilizer which allows, generally, the CG to be moved more towards the stabilizer which allows a shallower decalage angle (difference between the wing and stab incidence angles). Lower decalage angle will generally reduce drag. Whether this is optimal or not you would have to build and test.

If you want to test longer motor sticks, I would build and try. A difference of at least one inch would probably be significant.

To test longer motors, I would keep thickness actually density in grams per inch) constant and try longer and shorter in two inch increments (loop length) initially. The, of course, try different densities too. Lots of testing is the route to success.

Good luck,

Brian T
banilmd

Post by banilmd »

bjt4888 wrote:Basil,