Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Locked
banilmd
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: February 11th, 2019, 10:01 am
Division: C
State: CA

Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by banilmd » March 3rd, 2019, 9:22 am

Hello all,
After using the freedom flight torque meter for some time now, I am noticing that it has started to not work as well. Without any rubber the meter isnt at 0 and when we are winding with the rubber on it it doesn't seem to move much regardless of how many turns we put onto the motor. Due to this we are not able to get torque readings that we can compare between flights. Is there any way to calibrate the meter or anything I could do to get it back into working shape? Also, we have been measuring the torque of the motor after we finish winding right before we take it off to put it on the plane. Is this the correct place to measure the torque?

Thank you all

coachchuckaahs
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 9:19 am
Division: B
State: NM

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by coachchuckaahs » March 3rd, 2019, 9:32 am

banilmd wrote:Hello all,
After using the freedom flight torque meter for some time now, I am noticing that it has started to not work as well. Without any rubber the meter isnt at 0 and when we are winding with the rubber on it it doesn't seem to move much regardless of how many turns we put onto the motor. Due to this we are not able to get torque readings that we can compare between flights. Is there any way to calibrate the meter or anything I could do to get it back into working shape? Also, we have been measuring the torque of the motor after we finish winding right before we take it off to put it on the plane. Is this the correct place to measure the torque?

Thank you all
I would look for something binding. While I do not have this meter, it is fairly simple. If the wire is binding in the front pivot, it will impact the ability to read properly. Perhaps a drop of oil is needed, or perhaps something is bent. If you can disassemble, you could try to bore out the pivot hole slightly.

You want to read torque during the entire winding process. It can help determine when to walk in (from full stretch), how fast to walk in (maintain constant torque until at least halfway in), and when to stop winding (max torque). Then Unwind using the torque meter to know when you are at ideal launch torque.

Coach Chuck
Coach, Albuquerque Area Home Schoolers Flying Events
Nationals Results:
2016 C WS 8th place
2018 B WS 2nd place
2018 C Heli Champion
2019 B ELG 3rd place
2019 C WS Champion
AMA Results: 3 AAHS members qualify for US Jr Team in F1D, 4 new youth senior records

banilmd
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: February 11th, 2019, 10:01 am
Division: C
State: CA

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by banilmd » March 3rd, 2019, 9:53 am

coachchuckaahs wrote:
banilmd wrote:Hello all,
After using the freedom flight torque meter for some time now, I am noticing that it has started to not work as well. Without any rubber the meter isnt at 0 and when we are winding with the rubber on it it doesn't seem to move much regardless of how many turns we put onto the motor. Due to this we are not able to get torque readings that we can compare between flights. Is there any way to calibrate the meter or anything I could do to get it back into working shape? Also, we have been measuring the torque of the motor after we finish winding right before we take it off to put it on the plane. Is this the correct place to measure the torque?

Thank you all
I would look for something binding. While I do not have this meter, it is fairly simple. If the wire is binding in the front pivot, it will impact the ability to read properly. Perhaps a drop of oil is needed, or perhaps something is bent. If you can disassemble, you could try to bore out the pivot hole slightly.

You want to read torque during the entire winding process. It can help determine when to walk in (from full stretch), how fast to walk in (maintain constant torque until at least halfway in), and when to stop winding (max torque). Then Unwind using the torque meter to know when you are at ideal launch torque.

Coach Chuck
Thank you, so I should check to make sure the wire is straight and to make sure there is nothing rubbing against the wire as it should be moving freely? Is there anything I could adjust it to stay at 0 when there is no motor attached? Thank you once again Coach Chuck for your assistance.

coachchuckaahs
Member
Member
Posts: 394
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 9:19 am
Division: B
State: NM

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by coachchuckaahs » March 3rd, 2019, 6:51 pm

It should be a simple wire that twists, with a pointer attached is bent on the rubber end. I again done have one. Is that a way to rotate the dial of numbers? Or to rotate the anchor at the other end? If not, then I suppose you could use two pliers to slightly twist the wrote to re-zero it.

Ed get add binding, I would mainly look where the wire pass through the dial.

Also look for loose parts

Coach Chuck
Coach, Albuquerque Area Home Schoolers Flying Events
Nationals Results:
2016 C WS 8th place
2018 B WS 2nd place
2018 C Heli Champion
2019 B ELG 3rd place
2019 C WS Champion
AMA Results: 3 AAHS members qualify for US Jr Team in F1D, 4 new youth senior records

torqueburner
Member
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 11:41 am
Division: C
State: PA

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by torqueburner » March 4th, 2019, 9:43 am

I agree with Coach Chuck on all points. One thing that we do, that helps to reduce wear and tear on the torque meter, is to make a short "dummy stick". This is a very short version of the stick that is used to fly with partial motors. It is made from a piece of balsa approximately 3/4X3/8X1/8" thick, has a piece of music wire bent so that there is a hook on one end of the stick, a loop on the other. This is glued to the balsa and wrapped with thread. The motor goes on the hook, then the loop end is placed on the torque meter. The wire loop doesn't get all twisted up on the meter's hook like the motor or o-ring would, and is much easier to remove without putting as much stress on the torque meter.

Dr. D
coachchuckaahs wrote:It should be a simple wire that twists, with a pointer attached is bent on the rubber end. I again done have one. Is that a way to rotate the dial of numbers? Or to rotate the anchor at the other end? If not, then I suppose you could use two pliers to slightly twist the wrote to re-zero it.

Ed get add binding, I would mainly look where the wire pass through the dial.

Also look for loose parts

Coach Chuck

Rossyspsce
Member
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: June 3rd, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by Rossyspsce » March 4th, 2019, 10:46 am

torqueburner wrote:I agree with Coach Chuck on all points. One thing that we do, that helps to reduce wear and tear on the torque meter, is to make a short "dummy stick". This is a very short version of the stick that is used to fly with partial motors. It is made from a piece of balsa approximately 3/4X3/8X1/8" thick, has a piece of music wire bent so that there is a hook on one end of the stick, a loop on the other. This is glued to the balsa and wrapped with thread. The motor goes on the hook, then the loop end is placed on the torque meter. The wire loop doesn't get all twisted up on the meter's hook like the motor or o-ring would, and is much easier to remove without putting as much stress on the torque meter.

Dr. D
coachchuckaahs wrote:It should be a simple wire that twists, with a pointer attached is bent on the rubber end. I again done have one. Is that a way to rotate the dial of numbers? Or to rotate the anchor at the other end? If not, then I suppose you could use two pliers to slightly twist the wrote to re-zero it.

Ed get add binding, I would mainly look where the wire pass through the dial.

Also look for loose parts

Coach Chuck
I noticed your name is torque burner, do you happen know how to properly execute torque burners?

User avatar
CrayolaCrayon
Member
Member
Posts: 292
Joined: October 25th, 2017, 8:24 am
Division: C
State: CA

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by CrayolaCrayon » March 4th, 2019, 10:58 am

Torque burners seem a little risky; :shock: not worth the risk imo.
Wright Stuff 2nd 2019 Nationals
USA F1D Team 2020 Image
1391 Turns

Rossyspsce
Member
Member
Posts: 190
Joined: June 3rd, 2018, 5:32 pm

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by Rossyspsce » March 4th, 2019, 11:29 am

CrayolaCrayon wrote:Torque burners seem a little risky; :shock: not worth the risk imo.
I mean if it's the difference between varsity and jv I'd say it is

User avatar
klastyioer
Member
Member
Posts: 422
Joined: April 22nd, 2018, 4:46 pm
Division: C
State: PA

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by klastyioer » April 23rd, 2019, 7:49 pm

CrayolaCrayon wrote:Torque burners seem a little risky; :shock: not worth the risk imo.
haha ha.......
it's not about the medals; go out there and have fun. make progress, learn a few things, have one heck of a time, because that's all that matters.

Builder Cult >:)

'17 - Towers, WS, rocks
'18 - Towers, WS, Mystery Arch, road
'19 - WS
'20 - WS, Boomilever, PPP

User avatar
klastyioer
Member
Member
Posts: 422
Joined: April 22nd, 2018, 4:46 pm
Division: C
State: PA

Re: Freedom Flight Torque Meter

Post by klastyioer » April 23rd, 2019, 7:51 pm

i honestly didnt read any of the replies above lol sry im rly tired rn i usually sleep earlier than this
buttt
something to fix the not at 0 thing thats rly easy
i noticed if you just move the wiring left or right along the screw its held onto, it should reset it to 0
if not, read what these experts have to say cause im trashy at ws and thats the only way ik how to fix the torque meter ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

(if you cant tell im v v tired heh sry)
it's not about the medals; go out there and have fun. make progress, learn a few things, have one heck of a time, because that's all that matters.

Builder Cult >:)

'17 - Towers, WS, rocks
'18 - Towers, WS, Mystery Arch, road
'19 - WS
'20 - WS, Boomilever, PPP

Locked

Return to “Wright Stuff C”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests