Increasing Flight Times

xiangyu
Division: Grad
State: MI
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Increasing Flight Times

Post by xiangyu »

Hi! I'm new to the event this year but after a lot of testing with the FF kit, I was able to consistently get the plane to go around 2 minutes 10 seconds in a ~24 feet gym. However, I could never get above that time. What are some suggestions to increase my time? I've been using the 0.109 rubber band that is cut to 1.5x the length between the prop and hook and winding to around 120 before backing down 5-10. Should I be using a longer/thinner rubberband? Any suggestions welcome, thanks!
Medal & Ribbon Count: 33
Former EGRHS Team Captain 2017-2021
https://scioly.org/wiki/index.php/User:Xiangyu
klastyioer
Division: C
State: PA
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Re: Increasing Flight Times

Post by klastyioer »

xiangyu wrote:Hi! I'm new to the event this year but after a lot of testing with the FF kit, I was able to consistently get the plane to go around 2 minutes 10 seconds in a ~24 feet gym. However, I could never get above that time. What are some suggestions to increase my time? I've been using the 0.109 rubber band that is cut to 1.5x the length between the prop and hook and winding to around 120 before backing down 5-10. Should I be using a longer/thinner rubberband? Any suggestions welcome, thanks!
could you provide...

how many winds are you ending w
provide any prop info w altered pitch if use
any incidence info
uhh what else
mass of the plane
launch torque which u added rubber info but idk what that would b lolsry
describe the overall flight in 3 stages: climb cruise fall
it's not about the medals; go out there and have fun. make progress, learn a few things and have one heck of a time; that's all that matters.

Check out Klastyioer's Userpage!
xiangyu

Post by xiangyu »

klastyioer wrote: