Gravity Vehicle Ramp Please Help

GravityVehicleHelp
Division: C
State: TX
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Gravity Vehicle Ramp Please Help

Post by GravityVehicleHelp »

Hi i am a freshman and this is my first time doing gravity vehicle. So I finished my car but I was wondering if anyone could give me tips on how to make the ramp. I am planning to use wood and curve it, but I was wondering if it is easy to cut the wood into this shape, which will probably be a brachiostochrone curve, and also how should i make the best release mechanism. I only have 9 days till comp so I am looking for a more simple and efficient solution.
MTV<=>Operator
Division: Grad
State: NY

Re: Gravity Vehicle Ramp Please Help

Post by MTV<=>Operator »

GravityVehicleHelp wrote: February 19th, 2020, 5:16 pm Hi i am a freshman and this is my first time doing gravity vehicle. So I finished my car but I was wondering if anyone could give me tips on how to make the ramp. I am planning to use wood and curve it, but I was wondering if it is easy to cut the wood into this shape, which will probably be a brachiostochrone curve, and also how should i make the best release mechanism. I only have 9 days till comp so I am looking for a more simple and efficient solution.
First, you do not need a brachistochrone curve because this simply reduces the time it takes for the car to go down the ramp. However, time is not taken until after the vehicle exits the ramp, so a brachistochrone curve is not necessary. As for the release mechanism, the easiest way to do this is to simply drill a hole in the ramp surface where the vehicle will be released from. You can stick the release pencil through this hole and through a loop of sorts at the back of the vehicle, and then pull out the pencil to release the vehicle.