Parachute Payload System

kulwadee
Division: B
State: NC

Parachute Payload System

Post by kulwadee » November 25th, 2019, 5:11 pm

I am a new coach to this event. In the past, students have attached a plastic tube to the top of their rocket and then placed the ping pong onto the tube. This year's rules do not specify that they can do that. Does that mean that the students cannot attach a long plastic tube to the top anymore? If not, do they need to figure out another way to deploy the parachute? If there is no tube, then how can they place their ping pong on top of the rocket? It says that the nose of the rocket needs to be rounded, so that means that the ping pong can't really sit on top of the nose.

sciolyperson1
Division: C
State: NJ

Re: Parachute Payload System

Post by sciolyperson1 » November 25th, 2019, 5:43 pm

kulwadee wrote:
November 25th, 2019, 5:11 pm
I am a new coach to this event. In the past, students have attached a plastic tube to the top of their rocket and then placed the ping pong onto the tube. This year's rules do not specify that they can do that. Does that mean that the students cannot attach a long plastic tube to the top anymore? If not, do they need to figure out another way to deploy the parachute? If there is no tube, then how can they place their ping pong on top of the rocket? It says that the nose of the rocket needs to be rounded, so that means that the ping pong can't really sit on top of the nose.
No rules prevent your students from placing a tube on top of the rocket.
WW-P HSN '22, Community '18
sciolyperson1's Userpage
Nats:
Team - 3rd '18, '19
Roller - 1st '19
Mystery - 3rd '19
Buggy - 4th '19, 5th '18
Mission - 3rd '17

MIT:
Gravity - 1st '20

'20: Gravity - Boomi - WIDI - PPP
Vehicle event medalling streak - 0 :(
Rate my tests!

CookiePie1

Post by CookiePie1 » November 25th, 2019, 6:03 pm

sciolyperson1 wrote:
November 25th, 2019, 5:43 pm
kulwadee wrote: