Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post Reply
trdd
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: September 13th, 2018, 7:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post by trdd » September 5th, 2019, 5:00 am

Action viii:
Use a 3rd class lever to raise a golf ball at least 5 vertical cm. After rising at least 5 vertical cm, the golf ball must initiate the next action.

Use this post to comment on this task.

GPRSTEM
Member
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: September 5th, 2018, 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post by GPRSTEM » December 20th, 2019, 8:59 pm

Should the path taken by the golf ball be vertical linear only?

trdd
Member
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: September 13th, 2018, 7:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post by trdd » January 2nd, 2020, 5:49 am

GPRSTEM wrote:
December 20th, 2019, 8:59 pm
Should the path taken by the golf ball be vertical linear only?
The ball path can be anything as long as the total vertical distance raised is 5cm. So the path can certainly be the arc of a circle,

dhairyaa123
Member
Member
Posts: 3
Joined: September 29th, 2019, 9:57 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post by dhairyaa123 » January 26th, 2020, 1:36 pm

It is told in the rules that the ball that is being raised has to initiate the next action. My question here is that after raising the ball on the ramp can it go down the ramp to initiate the next action or is it required that it hits something above it in order for the next action to occur.In my understanding from what has been written in the forum above is that as long as i raise the ball 5 centimeters it is totally fine for it to go down the ramp. I would appreciate some clarifications on that rule. Thanks

User avatar
nateDC
Member
Member
Posts: 33
Joined: November 30th, 2018, 4:13 pm
Division: C
State: MD
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Location: Right where I am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Action viii: 3rd class lever

Post by nateDC » January 27th, 2020, 6:18 pm

dhairyaa123 wrote:
January 26th, 2020, 1:36 pm
It is told in the rules that the ball that is being raised has to initiate the next action. My question here is that after raising the ball on the ramp can it go down the ramp to initiate the next action or is it required that it hits something above it in order for the next action to occur.In my understanding from what has been written in the forum above is that as long as i raise the ball 5 centimeters it is totally fine for it to go down the ramp. I would appreciate some clarifications on that rule. Thanks
I'm not sure whether the ball is allowed to go back down to initiate the next action. I would advise checking soinc.org FRQs.
I can't think of anything else to put here, so I just wrote this...

Post Reply

Return to “Mission Possible B”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest