Page 1 of 1

Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 14th, 2020, 3:48 pm
by Devinszhang
Each movable/adjustable physical object in the Device must be utilized by at most one assigned action (except the golf ball in the Start and Final Actions)

If I interpreted correctly, the golf ball in the staring and final actions can also be used in other scoreable actions.

Re: Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 15th, 2020, 6:23 am
by builder83
Devinszhang wrote:
January 14th, 2020, 3:48 pm
Each movable/adjustable physical object in the Device must be utilized by at most one assigned action (except the golf ball in the Start and Final Actions)

If I interpreted correctly, the golf ball in the staring and final actions can also be used in other scoreable actions.
Good question. I believe the 'in start and final actions' means ONLY the start/final actions. How I read it anyway. Might make it easy and just buy a few more golf balls...

Re: Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 15th, 2020, 10:48 am
by Devinszhang
It is not really just a couple more golf balls but introducing unnecessary triggers and probability of fail. Who has the ultimate privilege in explaining this?

Re: Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 15th, 2020, 11:28 am
by GPRSTEM
Devinszhang wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 10:48 am
It is not really just a couple more golf balls but introducing unnecessary triggers and probability of fail. Who has the ultimate privilege in explaining this?
This is the link on SOINC.org to post the question to receive an official answer. --> https://www.soinc.org/division-b-events

Re: Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 15th, 2020, 12:40 pm
by knightmoves
Devinszhang wrote:
January 15th, 2020, 10:48 am
It is not really just a couple more golf balls but introducing unnecessary triggers and probability of fail.
Don't understand this bit - re-using the same golf ball is more complicated than having several single-purpose golf balls.

I see what you're doing with your interpretation of the rules, but like others, I think your reading is neither what is said, nor what is intended. I would expect an ES and an arbitrator to rule against you. But GPRSTEM sent you to the only place you can get an official clarification.

Re: Can the golf ball in the starting or final action be used in other storable actions?

Posted: January 15th, 2020, 1:24 pm
by Devinszhang
Thanks everyone for your helps in clarifying this point.

My second to last action is using the same ball as the final action. I have to change the design somewhat.