Analog Temperature Sensor Calibration

yashp13
Division: C
State: OH
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Analog Temperature Sensor Calibration

Post by yashp13 »

Hi, I am new to this event, and I would like to ask how you are calibrating the temperature snesing device.
What we have decided to do is use the TI Analog Temperature Sensor (LM19) and the TI Innovator Hub and calibrate the formula using the hot and cold water samples.

What we did was get the analog reading for 55°C (call it H) (could be any hot temeprature, that is just what we decided for testing purposes) and the analog reading for 0°C (call it C). And we found a linear function using y=mx+b.
m = (55-0)/(H-C)
b = 55 - (m * H)

however, when testing this, even though theoretically it should produce an accurate linear function since the LM19 produces analog out that is linear to temperature, it does not seem to be accurate.
Testing temperature might be 25°C but we are getting sometimes 40°C or -10°C.

Can anyone please help us out, and if you could guide us in the right direction or give suggestions or examples of how you did this.
Thank you. :D
sciencegirl03
State: MI

Re: Analog Temperature Sensor Calibration

Post by sciencegirl03 »

Hi, You have the correct approach and equations. What values of m and b did you calculate? 'm' should be around -0.0201 and 'b' around 175 (for that sensor with the TI innovator hub). If not close to those values, you must be reading incorrect values. For ex. around 2 degrees C, it should read approx 8550. Are those what you are getting?

Also, make sure your wires are correctly inserted in the hub and the sensor.
"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

2019 Nationals:
Wright Stuff: 3rd
Protein Modeling: 4th
Geologic Mapping: 5th
yashp13

Post by yashp13 »