Event Proctoring

Alumni make some of the best volunteers!
Fanglin
Division: C
State: CA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Event Proctoring

Post by Fanglin »

Hi guys!,

I was chosen to Proctor the Road Scholar event at an upcoming invitational. I am experienced in the event (2 Nats) but this is my first time ever Proctoring or writing a Road Scholar test. I don't think it's going to be that hard, due to the fact that it's just an invitational, but I can't really be sure.
If you guys have any tips or anything, that would be great! If you've proctored before, tell me what its like!

Thanks a lot guys!
Unome
Division: Grad
State: GA

Re: Event Proctoring

Post by Unome »

Fanglin wrote:Hi guys!,

I was chosen to Proctor the Road Scholar event at an upcoming invitational. I am experienced in the event (2 Nats) but this is my first time ever Proctoring or writing a Road Scholar test. I don't think it's going to be that hard, due to the fact that it's just an invitational, but I can't really be sure.
If you guys have any tips or anything, that would be great! If you've proctored before, tell me what its like!

Thanks a lot guys!
I'm not too familiar with Road Scholar, but I can give you some info about event supervising in general:

Note: I omitted a lot of the basics (e.g. don't copy questions from other tests) because I don't have time right now; someone else can handle that.

1) Make sure your test is written to fit the size of the tournament. Seeing as most CA tourneys are all aroudn 30-ish teams, I'd recommend (based on my limited knowledge of Road Scholar) a test length along the lines of this test (again, limited knowledge of Road Scholar, so I may be off on this).