Advise for Elevated Bridge

For anything Science Olympiad-related that might not fall under a specific event or competition.
NozaninS
Division: B
State: NY
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Been thanked: 0

Advise for Elevated Bridge

Post by NozaninS »

Hi My name is Nozanin, I am a 6th grade student that is trying out for the science olympiad. I am really interested in build events, but to get into build events I need to build an Elevated Bridge. Do you have any advise about building an elevated bridge?
TheSquaad
Division: Grad
Has thanked: 0

Re: Advise for Elevated Bridge

Post by TheSquaad »

Easiest place to start is materials..

Get your wood from https://specializedbalsa.com/. They have very good consistency (you can specify densities, grains etc).

Glue - use medium cyanoacrylate (medium is easier to use, cyano is the best kind). I also recommend wearing tight nitrile gloves.

Knives - most exacto knife kits will do. Also get a metal ruler for a straight edge to cut along, and some sort of decent cutting surface.

Other - masking tape is very useful for holding wood down, and sharpie for marking wood. Also some fine grit sandpaper is very useful.

As for building itself, best to wait until the draft rules come out. In the meantime, look through old forums to get a picture of building techniques (cutting spars, gluing efficiently, etc)
These users thanked the author TheSquaad for the post (total 2):
NozaninS (June 14th, 2021, 12:47 pm) • drcubbin (June 26th, 2021, 6:18 pm)
RiverWalker88
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Division: Grad
State: NM
Pronouns: He/Him/His

Post by RiverWalker88 »

I don't have too much experience with elevated bridge (or any events in this rotation really), but if you haven't seen the Elevated Bridge Wiki, that's probably a good starting resource. The page itself has a lot of information, the box in the top right contains links to the old forums for Elevated Bridge, and at the bottom of the page are links to external resources.