A Small Rant

For anything Science Olympiad-related that might not fall under a specific event or competition.
Tigris
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

A Small Rant

Post by Tigris »

Hi, I'm a sophomore in NJ and this is my first year of SciOly. I think I've been doing pretty well for my first year, and i'm probably the best person at my school in Fossils (an event only like three people at my school do) and like second or third at Invasives (a more popular event). And even though I'm really bad at my third event, Protein Modeling, my teammates make up for it and we did really well at one of the hardest competitions in the entirety of SciOly. I was taken to every single competition (except Regionals).

However, when it came to deciding teams for States, I wasn't chosen.Instead, they decided to put a captain on the team, who has never done Invasives before, and who is really bad at Fossils in comparison to me (I am the dinosaur queen!). I talked to the coach about it and his 45 minute lecture basically boiled down to "I have been making state lists for 66 million years, so I would know something about putting a good team together" and "I have known [your replacement] since she was a baby and she is literally the smartest person in this school, aside from myself. She has been doing Science Olympiad for 100 thousand years, so she should know what she is doing, even though she is not as good as you at Fossils and has never done Invasives". The email the captains sent to me also basically said that she was chosen for her seniority, even though in the email where they posted the list, they claimed "This team was determined based on competition results, tryout scores, and consistency, reliability, and work ethic throughout the year."