Torque Meter

User avatar
blue cobra
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 417
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 6:10 pm
Division: Grad
State: NY

Re: Torque Meter

Postby blue cobra » February 13th, 2010, 12:26 pm

leetx wrote:
blue cobra wrote:By FOXFIRE did you mean Firefox? If so, I am using Firefox, and I can see the picture, but I can't save it or print it. I suppose I could take a screen shot and then edit away the rest, or just use the small one on the new plans I'm following.


You don't need to save the file to .php, then print it. After displaying the desired diagram on the browser page, simply print that page using the print function of your browser. I use google chrome as the browser.


My computer wouldn't let me do that. But it doesn't matter anyway. I was able to get it perfectly with GIMP, but I found I prefer the dial included with Ray Harlan's plans. And why does it say in those plans (these) to use epoxy to attach your dial to the steel? Could I just use hot glue?
In full color since 2006

fleet130
Staff Emeritus
Staff Emeritus
Posts: 433
Joined: November 10th, 2001, 3:06 pm
State: -
Location: Mare Tranquillitatis
Contact:

Re: Torque Meter

Postby fleet130 » February 13th, 2010, 6:46 pm

File > Print works if you want to print the picture. To save it: right-click on the image and choose from the menu. Works in most browsers. If you're on a MAC, you're on your own!

It's possible for a web page to prevent right-click from working, but very rare. If you're really dedicated you can almost always get the file out of your temporary internet files
Information expressed here is solely the opinion of the author. Any similarity to that of the management or any official instrument is purely coincidental! Doing Science Olympiad since 1987!

User avatar
blue cobra
Exalted Member
Exalted Member
Posts: 417
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 6:10 pm
Division: Grad
State: NY

Re: Torque Meter

Postby blue cobra » February 18th, 2010, 10:42 am

I'm building this torque meter. Once I have it built, how do I use it? I understand winding my rubber on it, but should I clamp it somewhere, have someone hold it, or what?

By the way, I couldn't print the dial via File>Print (I just got the Windows XP error sound) and Save Picture wasn't an option in the right click menu. It doesn't matter though, because I was able to get it from a screen capture, and I decided I like the one included with the plans better anyway.
In full color since 2006

DanielleS
Member
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: February 21st, 2010, 11:27 am
Division: B
State: PA

Re: Torque Meter

Postby DanielleS » February 27th, 2010, 10:04 am

I saw in the rules that we do not need torque in our flight log, therefore we haven't built a torque meter.. We know that we have a lot of torque in the beginning of our flight. We are figuring out ways to decrease the torque. Would it still be useful for us to try to build a torque meter?

User avatar
eta150
Member
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: March 11th, 2009, 3:48 pm
Division: Grad
State: PA
Location: Kville

Re: Torque Meter

Postby eta150 » February 27th, 2010, 2:58 pm

I used a torque meter last year, and it helps a lot, IF, it is built well and returns consistent measurement. It takes the guesswork out of winding, and makes it so that you can adjust to changing rubber.
#ACESWILD

super4545
Member
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: February 28th, 2010, 7:09 am
Division: B
State: MI
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow

Re: Torque Meter

Postby super4545 » February 28th, 2010, 7:42 am

My team built a torque meter this year. It was fairly easy. It involved a piece of wire, a metal hook, and a meter and we used http://www.gryffinaero.com/models/ffpages/tools/torque/tmeter.html to help us. 8-)
Super4545

gh
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 323
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 5:47 pm
Division: Grad
State: NY
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: Torque Meter

Postby gh » March 14th, 2010, 12:43 pm

I had bought a IMS (Indoor Model Supply, previously run by Lew Gitlow) torque meter for I believe $30. It was a heck of a lot cheaper than any other torque meter available and saved me the work of making one (which really isn't that hard overall, but I just didn't feel like finding all the right parts).

It's nicely made from aluminum, and does everything you need a torque meter to do: it pivots on a little clip at the end, the dial face and needle can be read easily, and the wire can be changed out. There was even a little torque release mechanism that allows the hook to "freely" spin and release a few winds, though I suspect that was probably pretty wearing on the internals, so I never used it.

I don't think it's available from IMS anymore though, but I still found the catalog page it on Google: http://www.indoormodelsupply.com/Catalog5.htm
“Rather fail with honor than succeed by fraud.” —Sophocles

If you are looking to give help or get help:
Wiki > Forum post > AJAX IRC Chat or Java IRC Chat > PM > Email
Don't forget the Image Gallery, the OBB Archive, and the list of Exalted User medals.


Return to “Wright Stuff B”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests