Also is there a clarification that said we had to hit the plate because at our practice competition, the proctor said if you can make it past the plate, you get the distance score but only once??
'Tis true. If you can get the Distance but miss the plate every single launch then you only get the distance score,not the bonus points.~Fishman100
Well,I thought if you made it past, you would actually receive the bonus once instead of participation unless reach meant hitting the target???
Bonus points are given for each ball hitting the plate on 1st bounce/impact. If you have at least 1 of the balls going the distance (which is hitting the plate, going past the plate, or going the same distance but hitting the plate), then you get the Distance score. But if none of them hit, then you don't get bonus points.
I'm pretty sure the rules state that the formula is "D x (n+1), where D is the distance and n is the number of balls that hit the target." (Or something like that.)