Braking System

xiangyu
Division: C
State: MI

Braking System

Postby xiangyu » April 6th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Out of curiosity, how many teams are using a braking system for their MTV? Is it really crucial? My MTV doesn't have a braking system and I've just been controlling how far it comes back with how many winds I do, is this a good idea? I'm new to the event this year and need some guidance. Thanks!
2020 Events

Wright Stuff, Gravity Vehicle. Machines, Circuit Lab, Boomilever, Ping-Pong Parachute

Medal Count: 2
East Grand Rapids High School, Michigan

mnoga
State: CA

Re: Braking System

Postby mnoga » April 6th, 2019, 9:48 pm

Out of curiosity, how many teams are using a braking system for their MTV? Is it really crucial? My MTV doesn't have a braking system and I've just been controlling how far it comes back with how many winds I do, is this a good idea? I'm new to the event this year and need some guidance. Thanks!
Yes, very crucial if you want to win a regional or state competition.

Things2do
State: TN
Location: Unfortunately, not Utah somewhere near the Colorado border

Postby Things2do » April 7th, 2019, 8:43 am

I won Regions and got 5th at State by affixing my drive string to the axle and varying the winds on and off of the built up middle part. I woulda gotten higher at State, but I overcorrected the curve for my second run and wound up slightly farther away on both with my second run. On the other side of the dots...
John 5:46-47
When your signature exceeds the allotted 300 characters, you put it here...
Is this where I put the Builder Cult?
"I think that we're all mentally ill. Those of us outside the asylums only hide it a little better - and maybe not all that much better after all." - Stephen King

xiangyu

Postby xiangyu » April 7th, 2019, 10:28 am