Division: C
State: MA
Pronouns: He/Him/His
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

flight ends with excess turns

Post by zdy1004 »

Hey everyone!

I'm relatively new to Wright Stuff, and this is my first season competing, so I was just looking for some advice.
When trimming, I noticed that many of our flights ended with excess turns when the plane landed. We're using a 0.094 rubber (I think) and winding about 900-100 turns (60+ winds on a 15:1 winder.) How would I maximize the plane up-time (not waste winds)?

Any help is appreciated!
coachchuckaahs
Coach
Coach
Division: B
State: NM

Re: flight ends with excess turns

Post by coachchuckaahs »

zdy1004 wrote: January 7th, 2022, 12:35 pm Hey everyone!

I'm relatively new to Wright Stuff, and this is my first season competing, so I was just looking for some advice.
When trimming, I noticed that many of our flights ended with excess turns when the plane landed. We're using a 0.094 rubber (I think) and winding about 900-100 turns (60+ winds on a 15:1 winder.) How would I maximize the plane up-time (not waste winds)?

Any help is appreciated!
Welcome to Wright Stuff.

This is a key to tuning your setup, matching the rubber to the prop.

What are you considering "excess turns"? Typically, you will wind to near breaking, then back off to your launch torque, due to hysteresis in the rubber (you will get a lot more energy stored in the rubber by winding hard and then backing off). "Typically" the ideal balance will be when the turns remaining at landing equal the turns you backed off to get to your launch torque. If you are not measuring the winds remaining, do so (and record in your log).